Association for Linguistic Typology
10th Biennial Conference (ALT 10)
Logo: MPILogo: ALT
Logo: Uni Leipzig
ALT 10   –   August 15-18, 2013

Call for the ALT's Joseph Greenberg Award [PDF]

The Association for Linguistic Typology's Joseph Greenberg Award recognizes and honours the best piece of typological research embodied in a doctoral dissertation or equivalent in 2011-2012. Theses are eligible if they were accepted by a university (i.e. passed or defended or accepted, and not just submitted) between 1 January 2011 and 31 December 2012. In addition, theses submitted for the previous round (2009-2010, when the award was postponed because of the small number of submissions) will be also be entered for this round.

The award will consist of (full or partial) payment of travel, per diem expenses and registration fee to attend the 10th ALT Conference, to be held in Leipzig, August 15-18, 2013, and to present a synopsis or element of the prize-winning work as a plenary lecture at that meeting.

The Joseph Greenberg Award was named to remember Joseph Greenberg's (1915-2001) fundamental contributions to typology and the interest he showed in encouraging young researchers. Between 1998 and 2006, it was known as the "ALT Junior Award".

To be eligible, those submitting their dissertation must be members of the Association for Linguistic Typology (ALT). They are asked to submit their manuscript by email in pdf format, with all non-standard fonts in Unicode, to the chair of the jury, to arrive no later than January 31st 2013. If this proves technically difficult, the candidate is asked to discuss the problem with the chair. A jury, consisting of about ten ALT members, will be appointed by ALT's president, appropriate to the work submitted.


Call for the ALT's Georg von der Gabelentz Award [PDF]

Submissions are invited for the second Georg von der Gabelentz Award, for a grammar published between January 1st 2009 and December 31st 2012. The award will be made at the 10th Biennial Conference of the Association for Linguistic Typology in Leipzig, August 15-18, 2013.

The Gabelentz Award was established to encourage and honour achievements in the field of documenting the world's linguistic diversity through the writing of reference grammars. To be eligible, a grammar must provide a systematic, accessible, comprehensive, original, insightful and typologically well-informed account of the workings of the language being described, generously exemplified with natural data. Though the normal expectation is that it would deal with a hitherto little-described language, outstanding grammars of better-known languages or dialects thereof may also be considered if they achieve major breakthroughs in a comprehensive understanding of the language. Grammars may be written in any major language, subject to the availability of a sufficient and geographically balanced set of jury members able to read the language.

Entries will be judged by a committee of half-a-dozen or more distinguished linguists, including a number of judges who have themselves written major reference grammars but also typologists and other categories of grammar users. The chair for the 2013 award will be Hein van der Voort. Prize winners for the Gabelentz award will receive support for travel, accommodation and registration at the ALT conference in Leipzig, as well as a collection of reference grammars and other works donated by major publishers in the area. They will also present a plenary lecture setting out the typologically most interesting aspects of the language.

Any grammar published between January 1st 2009 and December 31st 2012 will be eligible provided that it meets the conditions above and that the author is a member of the Association for Linguistic Typology. Grammars which have been submitted for the Panini Award (for a grammar dissertation) can be submitted again for the Gabelentz Award provided that they have been substantially revised and published by an academic publisher. Grammars which win the Panini Award cannot be submitted at a later date for the Gabelentz Award. All submissions for the Gabelentz Award need to be published by an academic publisher.

Entries are normally submitted as a PDF file with embedded fonts. Hard copies can be sent in exceptional circumstances only (e.g. if the publisher does not agree to a PDF version being submitted or if the author is not in a position to make a PDF version, for whatever reason) and with prior agreement by the chair of the committee. If hard copies are submitted, the exact number of copies to be submitted will vary according to the size of the committee, but a minimum of six copies is to be expected. Submitted hard copies remain the property of the members of the jury. The deadline for submissions is January 15, 2013.